Do you know the details about Ohio's new texting law?
Under age 18, it is illegal to use any mobile communications device while driving in Ohio, effective Aug. 31, 2012.
* This means no texting, e-mailing, cell phone, video games,
iPad/tablet or handheld GPS use while driving, even when sitting at a
light or in a traffic jam.
* A primary offense - The only reason police need to pull you over.
* First violation: $150 fine and driver's license suspended for 60 days.
* Second violation: $300 fine and license suspended for one year.
* Exceptions: Pre-programmed GPS or emergency calls to police, ambulance fire dept., etc.
*Adult drivers face a $150 fine for texting or reading/sending e-mails.